Search form


About Us Lead Image


Art By: Chris Muzzio

68th Annual Meeting Welcomed Industry Leaders

Arc of Westchester’s 68th Annual Membership Meeting and Art Exhibition

HAWTHORNE, NY - June 13, 2017 - The Arc of Westchester’s 68th Annual Membership Meeting was held on June 13th at the Arc’s Gleeson-Israel Gateway Center in Hawthorne. The event began at 6:30 pm with a reception in gallery265. The gallery showcases creative expression of people with developmental disabilities and community artists. The theme for this year’s exhibition was “Going Green.” All piece of art were made with re-purposed materials and fostered creativity while being kind to the environment. Guests also viewed a “Colorful Jellyfish’ lobby installation. Through a generous matching Art Partner Community Grant from ARTSWestchester, local artist Jeffrey Schrier engaged over 100 Arc of Westchester participants and staff members to create a sculpture made from more than 1,000 recycled water bottles.

Over 100 individuals including chapter members, invited guests, self-advocates, staff and board members attended the event.

The meeting was called to order by Arc of Westchester President Rosa Rodriguez.  Ms. Rodriguez welcomed guests and several guest speakers. The Honorable Nita Lowey sent a video tape presentation of an interview with two of Arc of Westchester self-advocates. She encouraged the membership to continue to get involved and have their voices heard by their elected officials.

Peter Berns, Executive Director, The Arc of the U.S., gave a powerful address about the changes ahead in funding resources for people with I/DD. He encouraged everyone to reach out to their local and national representatives.

Tania Seaburg, Acting Executive Director, NYSARC, Inc., congratulated the chapter for working hard on the bFair2DirectCare campaign and for innovative solutions in technology and employment for people with I/DD.

The membership elected a new slate of officers and board members for 2017-2018.

Officers elected were: Mark Glucksman, Treasurer and Katharine Wilson Conroy, Esq., Secretary.

Elected for a three-year term were: Daphne Daddino, Robert Diana, Elizabeth Mbayu, Kyle O’Loughlin-Cahill, Robert Picone, Abby Reuben and Jeffrey Wood.

Individuals elected to the Nominating Committee were: Robert Miss, Kyle O’Loughlin-Cahill and Sara Phelan.

Two board members, Jon Ferguson and Myriam DeLeon retired from the board and were presented with pieces of gallery265 art in recognition of their dedicated service.

Arc of Westchester also took this opportunity to recognize a number of partners and community volunteers for their outstanding contributions to social inclusion for people with developmental disabilities. They were each presented with unique artwork created by individuals in our art programs.

2017 Award Recipients:

  • Jim Witt, Hope for Youth Foundation received the Arc of Westchester Foundation Award.
  • Lorraine Laken, Hammond Museum & Japanese Stroll Garden received the Public Partnership Award
  • HSBC Bank, N.A. received the gallery265 Community Partnership Award
  • GIGI’s Playhouse received the Educational Partnership Award
  • Edward Cruz received the 2017 Richard P. Swierat Self-Advocate Award

Arc of Westchester is the largest agency in the county supporting people of all ages who have developmental disabilities such as autistic spectrum disorders, Down syndrome, cerebral palsy and learning disabilities. Currently celebrating 68 years in the community, Arc of Westchester has long advocated social inclusion for individuals with disabilities because of benefits to the entire community.

Press Room